Current Guidelines for Visitors Planning A Kauai Trip
Hawaii State Governor David Ige held a press conference on June 24 and announced a pre-travel testing program for out-of-state travelers that will begin Saturday, August 1. The governor’s message was: “We are working on an alternative to the 14-day mandatory quarantine that would allow a safe and healthy way for travelers to return to the islands. Masks are required in Hawaii in all buildings, and also if social distancing is not possible. Beaches and parks are open, however, social distancing is expected, except among small groups from the same household. This pre-testing program and the target date of August 1st is subject to change.
Currently, visitors traveling to Kauai must be quarantined to their hotel room, rental unit or time share for 14 days or, if less, for their time-duration on the island, and are limited to staying in their rooms. Food must be delivered. Rental cars are not available until after the quarantine. Violation of the quarantine can result in a fine up to $5,000, and an arrest by the Kauai Police Department. Currently out of state visitors must quarantine for 14 days upon arrival and may not rent a car until that quarantine is over. The quarantine is a restriction to a lodging unit, with food delivery only.
For updates from Kauai’s Mayor, Derek Kawakami, go here: http://www.kauai.gov/COVID-19. Our Mayor has set up rules and guidelines for visitors and local residents on Kauai, which mirror statewide mandates from Hawaii’s Governor Ige.
Kauai’s medical resources and large population of Kupuna (older generation) continue to be guarded against proliferation of COVID-19 — a devastating scenario on an island where medical facilities are limited.